Jean Marc Ndjofang is the winner of World Cup - Ouaga 2023

The World Cup is one of the most important checkers events consisting of 5 tournaments. The series started in January with a game in Burkina Faso. Check out who the winners are and what other events await you in the coming months.

Jean Marc Ndjofang is the winner of World Cup - Ouaga 2023

Jean Marc Ndjofang is the winner of World Cup - Ouaga 2023

The first International Draughts World Cup of the year ended on January 29 in Burkina Faso. The winner can only be one - Jean Marc Ndjofang (Cameroon). He led in the tournament all along, beating titled players. It is worth mentioning that Jean Marc is the runner-up in the 2015 World Championship and certainly the most successful player from Africa.

Ilboudo Maxime (Burkina Faso) stood on the second step of the podium, and Nga Landry (Cameroon) won the bronze medal. Surprisingly, two great players - including current African Champion Joel Atse - finished the tournament in 4th and 5th places. 

You can check the detailed results by clicking here

This was the first and only 5-star World Cup this year. What do the stars symbolize? The stars indicate a higher prize pool and the possibility of earning more points in the final World Cup classification during the year.

There are 4 more World Cups this year (all 3-star):

  • World Cup Drancy Open (29th April - 6th May, France)
  • World Cup Riga Open (2-7th July, Latvia)
  • World Cup RotterDams Open (16-22nd July, The Netherlands)
  • World Cup Polish Open (4-9th December, Poland)

All events are open to the players, so if you're considering attending a major event or want to see the best players live, go ahead!


image source

By clicking "Accept All Cookies", you agree to storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts.